WILLIAM RAINEY HARPER COLLEGE Algonquin & Roselle Roads Palatine, Illinois

SPECIAL BOARD MEETING

AGENDA

March 31, 1977

8:00 p.m.

- I. Call to Order
- II. Roll Call
- III. New Business
 - A. RECOMMENDATION: Approval of Ballot

Exhibit III-A (Handcarried)

B. RECOMMENDATION: Appointment of Election Judges

Exhibit III-B

- C. Discussion of Architect-Selection Process
- IV. Adjournment.

WILLIAM RAINEY HARPER COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT 512 COUNTIES OF COOK, KANE, LAKE AND MCHENRY, STATE OF ILLINOIS

Minutes of the Special Board Meeting of Thursday, March 31, 1977

CALL TO ORDER:

The special meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 512 was called to order by Chairman Munson on Thursday, March 31, 1977, at 8:05 p.m., in the Board Room of the Administration Building, Algonquin and Roselle Roads.

In the absence of Secretary Troehler, Chairman Munson appointed Member Rausch as Secretary Pro Tem.

ROLL CALL:

Present: Members William A. Kelly, Robert R. Moats, Shirley A. Munson, Robert G. Rausch and Natalie Weber, and Student Member Robin Turpin Absent: Members Jessalyn M. Nicklas and Judith Troehler

Also present: Robert E. Lahti, John Birkholz, Don Carlson, Denny Dunton, Guerin Fischer, Jean Goodling, Robert J. Hughes, C. Patrick Lewis, William J. Mann, William E. Miller, Don Misic, Elaine Stoermer, W.E.Von Mayr--Harper College; William Brittain--Harper Student; Jeff Conroy and Wallie Scott--Caudill Rowlett Scott; Don Stillwaugh--Erickson, Kristmann, Stillwaugh; Myron Goldsmith, George Dickie, Donald E. Ohlson and Lawrence Okrent--Skidmore, Owings & Merrill; and Jan Bone, Sally Carlson, Joan Fox, John Jay Fox, III, and Joan Klussman.

NEW BUSINESS: Approval of Election Ballot

Member Weber moved, Member Moats seconded, adoption of the following resolution approving the form and content of the ballot for the annual Board of Trustees' election, April 9, 1977:

IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED by the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 512, Counties of Cook, Kane, Lake and McHenry, and State of Illinois, that the ballot to be used at the forthcoming annual Board election to be held on Saturday, April 9, 1977, copy of which is attached hereto, be and hereby is approved as to form and content. (Ex. III-A attached to the minutes in the Board of Trustees' Official Book of Minutes.)

Upon roll call, the vote was as follows:

Ayes: Members Kelly, Moats, Munson, Rausch

and Weber

Nays: None

Motion carried.

NEW BUSINESS:
Appointment
of Election
Judges

Member Weber moved, Member Rausch seconded, the adoption of the following resolution approving the appointment of judges for the Board of Trustees' annual election to be held on Saturday, April 9, 1977:

IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED that the following persons be and hereby are appointed to act as judges of election at the April 9, 1977, annual Board election, providing that the appointment of the last four persons listed under precincts #16, #17, #18, #19, and #20 is conditional on the holding of the Unit District referendum on said date, and if it is not so held, their appointment shall be of no force and effect (as in Ex. III-B attached to the minutes in the Board of Trustees' Official Book of Minutes).

Member Rausch asked if the assembly passed the extension of the Unit District referendum vote to all of Dist.#214, how that would affect this motion. Both Dr. Lahti and Dr. Mann felt, if this happened, there would not be enough time to meet all the legal requirements and probably the referendum would be postponed.

Upon roll call, the vote was as follows:

Ayes: Members Kelly, Moats, Munson, Rausch and

Weber

Nays: None

Motion carried.

Chairman Munson announced there would be an executive session on negotiations immediately following the adjournment of the meeting.

Presentations by Architects

Chairman Munson reported the Board would now continue their interviews with architectural firms on their capability for master planning. The first presentation was made by a team from Skidmore, Owings & Merrill, led by Myron Goldsmith. The second presentation, made by a team from Erickson, Kristmann, Stillwaugh, and Caudill Rowlett Scott, was led by Don Stillwaugh of EKS.

Chairman Munson stated the Board had previously heard presentations by a team from Perkins & Will, led by William Brubaker, and a team from Fitch, Larocca, led by Marvin Fitch.

ADJOURNMENT:

Member Weber moved, Member Rausch seconded, that the meeting be adjourned at 9:35 p.m. Motion carried.