WILLIAM RAINEY HARPER COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT #512 COUNTIES OF COOK, KANE, LAKE AND McHENRY, STATE OF ILLINOIS

Minutes of the Committee of the Whole Meeting of Wednesday, August 9, 2017

CALL TO ORDER

The Committee of the Whole meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 512 was called to order by Chair Dowell on Wednesday, August, 2017 at 5:03 p.m. in Room W216 of the Wojcik Conference Center, 1200 W. Algonquin Road, Palatine, Illinois.

ROLL CALL

Present: Members Dowell, Hill, Johnson, Kelley, Mundt, Stack,

and Student Member Safakas

Absent: Robb

Also present: Kenneth Ender, President; Ronald Ally, EVP Finance and Administrative Services; Mike Barzacchini, Director Marketing Services; Patrick Bauer, Chief Information Officer, Bret Bonnstetter, Controller; Laura Brown, Vice President and Chief Advancement Officer; Maria Coons, Vice President of Institutional Planning and Strategic Alliances and Chief of Staff; Brian Knetl, Associate Provost; Darryl Knight, Executive Director Facilities Management; Judy Marwick, Provost; Maria Moten, Assistant Provost; Mark Mrozinski, Assistant Vice President of Workforce Development and Executive Dean Community Education; Sheryl Otto, Assistant Provost and Dean of Student Development; Pearl Ratunil, Special Assistant to the President for Diversity and Inclusion; Darlene Schlenbecker, Executive Director for Planning, Research and Institutional Effectiveness; Michelé Smith, Vice President of Workforce Solutions and Associate Provost; Roger Spayer, Chief Human Resources Officer; Meg Coney, Administrative Coordinator; Brian Page, Director Community Engagement, Communications & Legislative Affairs; Carolynn Muci, Internal Communications Manager; Kim Pohl, Media Relations & Legislative Affairs Manager; Kathy Coy, Director of Institutional Research; Sue Egan, Project Assistant; Melissa Cayer, citizen.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were no public comments.

DISCUSSION OF FOLLOW UP ITEMS

Chair Dowell asked that Member Mundt serve as Secretary, in the absence of Secretary Robb.

Michelé Smith presented the history and overview of Harper's Diversity and Inclusion Task Force, their vision and initiatives, and the outcomes and next steps. Smith introduced Dr. Pearl Ratunil, who, effective July 1, began serving a three-year term as the Special Assistant to the President for Diversity and Inclusion.

Darlene Schlenbecker presented on Harper College's institutional Accountability Report. She highlighted the FY2017

accomplishments, and those goals not yet completed. Schlenbecker stated she will present progress updates on the Operational and Strategic Plans to the Board three times per year.

Bret Bonnstetter reviewed the FY2017 budget/actual for Tax Capped Funds; and the FY2018 revenue and expenditure budget parameters, including Capital Projects.

Roger Spayer reviewed the SURS 6% Annual Billing Update memo.

Dr. Maria Coons reviewed the August Board meeting packet.

FORMAL ACTIONS

Member Stack motioned, Member Hill seconded, to enter closed session for the purpose of discussing collective bargaining at 6:10 p.m.

Upon roll call, the vote was as follows:

Ayes: Members Dowell, Hill, Johnson, Kelley, Mundt, Stack, and

Student Member Safakas.

Nays: None. Motion carried.

Member Kelley motioned, Member Hill seconded to adjourn the closed session and re-enter the regular meeting at 6:35 p.m. In a roll call vote, the motion carried unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT

Member Johnson motioned, Member Mundt seconded adjournment at 7:17 p.m. In a voice vote, motion carried.

Chair	Secretary	