SPECIAL JOINT BOARD MEETING BOARD OF TRUSTEES

TOWNSHIP HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT 211 TOWNSHIP HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT 214 COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT 220

COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT 512

COUNTIES OF COOK, KANE, LAKE AND McHENRY, STATE OF ILLINOIS

Minutes of the Special Board Meeting held at Harper College, December 4, 2017

CALL TO ORDER

The Special Joint Meeting of the Boards of Districts 211, 214, 220 and 512 was called to order by Board Chair Gregory Dowell (512), Board President Mucia Burke (211), and Board President Todd Younger (214) on Monday, December 4, 2017 at 7:00 p.m. in the Dining Room of the Wojcik Conference Center, 1200 W. Algonquin Road, Palatine, Illinois. Representatives from District 220 were also in attendance as noted below.

APPOINT PRO TEM SECRETARY

512: Motion to appoint Angie Pellegrini as Pro Tem Secretary for the Special Joint Board Meeting by Trustee Johnson, Second by Trustee Mundt – motion carried.

211: Motion to appoint Angie Pellegrini as Pro Tem Secretary for the Special Joint Board Meeting by Board Member Klimkowicz, Second by Board Member Rosenblum – motion carried.

214: Motion to appoint Angie Pellegrini as Pro Tem Secretary for the Special Joint Board Meeting by Board Member Hineman, Second by Board Member Palmer – motion carried.

ROLL CALL

Board Members Present:

512: Gregory Dowell, Diane Hill, Herb Johnson, William Kelley, Walt Mundt, Dr. Nancy Robb, Pat Stack, Niki Safakas

211: Mucia Burke, Anna Klimkowicz, Steven Rosenblum, Edward Yung

214: Mark Hineman, Alva Kreutzer, Millie Palmer, Lenny Walker, Todd Younger

Also present: Board President Brian Battle (220); Dr. Daniel Cates, Superintendent (211); Dr. David Schuler, Superintendent (214); Dr. Brian Harris, Superintendent (220); Dr. Kenneth Ender, President (512); Patrick Mogge, Director of Community Engagement & Outreach (214); Dr. Marcella Zipp, Director of Grants and Special Programs (214); John Bruesch, Assistant Superintendent for Teaching and Learning (220); Dr. Maria Coons, Chief of Staff, VP, Board Liaison (512); Dr. Judith Marwick, Provost (512); Michelé Smith, Associate Provost and VP of Workforce Solutions (512); Dr. Kenya Ayers, VP and Board Chair (NECSS); Angie Pellegrini, Administrative Assistant (NECSS)

Melissa Cayer, Community Member

<u>PUBLIC COMMENTS</u> There were no public comments.

NECSS UPDATE

Drs. Cates, Ender, Harris and Schuler served on a panel to discuss:

- Collective impact framework for NECSS
- Updates since the last Joint Board meeting in 2014
- NECSS Scorecard
- Benefits and challenges of working in partnerships
- Harper Promise Program
- Future of NECSS

Dr. Ayers discussed:

- NECSS Organizational Chart
- NECSS Finances
- Special Populations Initiative
- Healthcare Pathways Options

FORMAL ACTIONS

None were taken.

ADJOURNMENT

512: Motion to adjourn by Trustee Johnson, Second by Trustee Mundt – motion carried.

211: Motion to adjourn by Board Member Klimkowicz, Second by

Board Member Rosenblum – motion carried.

214: Motion to adjourn by Board Member Hineman, Second by Board Member Palmer – motion carried.

Adjournment at 8:00 PM.

Chair	Secretary