WILLIAM RAINEY HARPER COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT #512 COUNTIES OF COOK, KANE, LAKE, AND McHENRY, STATE OF ILLINOIS

Minutes of the Committee of the Whole Meeting of Wednesday, February 10, 2021

CALL TO ORDER

The Committee of the Whole meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 512 was called to order by Chair Pat Stack on Wednesday, February 10, 2021 at 5:02 p.m. via Webex teleconference.

ROLL CALL

Present: Members Greg Dowell, Diane Hill, Herb Johnson, Bill Kelley, Walt Mundt, Nancy Robb, Pat Stack, and Student Member Dylan Hildebrand.

Absent: none

Also present: Dr. Avis Proctor; President; Mike Barzacchini, Director of Marketing Services; Laura Brown, Vice President and Chief Advancement Officer; Kathy Bruce, Interim Associate Provost; Meg Coney, Administrative Coordinator; Sue Contarino, Interim Chief Information Officer; Dr. Maria Coons, Vice President of Strategic Alliances and Innovation/Board Liaison; Dr. Kathy Coy, Director of Institutional Research; Sue Egan, Executive Assistant; Rob Galick, Executive Vice President of Finance and Administrative Services; Bob Grapenthien, Controller; Dr. MaryAnn Janosik, Provost; Jeff Julian, Chief of Staff; Rick Kellerman, Network Specialist; Darryl Knight, Executive Director of Facilities Management; Chelsea Lynn, Theater Technical Director; Carolynn Muci, Internal Communications Manager; Bob Parzy, Interim Assistant Provost; Kim Pohl, Director of Communications; Darlene Schlenbecker, Vice President of Planning, Research and Institutional Effectiveness; Dr. Michelé Smith, Vice President of Workforce Solutions; Roger Spayer, Chief Human Resources Officer; and Heather Zoldak, Associate Executive Director of Foundation.

Guests: Dr. John Garcia, Professor; Dr. Alicia Tomasian, Professor; Darice Trout, Associate Dean; Connor Hults, student; Leia Ladios, student; Ashley Rosenthal, student; Melissa Cayer, citizen; Kelly Dittmann, citizen; Phil Gerner, Robbins-Schwartz.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

None.

DISCUSSION OF FOLLOW UP ITEMS

Honors Student Merit Awards are provided for outstanding contributions within the framework of the William Rainey Harper College Honors Program. Board policy 05.23.00 stipulates the Honors Student Merit Awards are to be recommended to the Board for consideration. Students in the Honors Program are eligible for this award and are nominated by faculty. Each student would receive \$100.

Associate Dean Darice Trout who oversees the Honors Program and program coordinators Dr. John Garcia and Dr. Alicia Tomasian introduced three of the 10 student awardees for fall semester: Leia Ladios, Connor Hults, and Ashley Rosenthal. Each spoke of the impact of, and opportunities provided by the Honors Program including research, projects, and leadership opportunities. Two of the students are also Promise Scholars.

The Board expressed their congratulations and stated how impressed they were with the dedication and perseverance of these students and their insight to take advantage of the opportunities the Honors Program presented. They serve as role models to their fellow students and high school seniors.

Bob Grapenthien provided the Monthly Budget status report.

Rob Galick reviewed the Tuition and Fees Recommendation to be presented to the Board at the February 17 meeting. Due to the ongoing pandemic the proposal includes no tuition increase for FY22 as well as other changes that will make attending Harper more affordable.

Darlene Schlenbecker provided an update on the 49 Operational Plan goals. Nuventive is the new tracking/dashboard system being utilized for monthly goal and target updates. It is the same system that Learning Assessment uses. The next update will be in May.

Chair Pat Stack provided an update of the Board of Trustee's goals. The goals align with President Proctor's goals. She reported good progress and forward movement on all goals.

Dr. Maria Coons reviewed the February 17 Board Packet.

FORMAL ACTIONS

<u>Member Kelley motioned</u>; Member Dowell seconded to enter closed session to discuss a personal matter at 6:25 p.m. In a roll call vote, the motion passed unanimously.

Member Johnson motioned, Member Hill seconded to adjourn the closed session and re-enter the regular meeting at 6:56 p.m. In a roll call vote the motion passed unanimously.

Regular meeting resumed at time 6:58 p.m.

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

Member Robb moved, Member Kelley seconded, adjournment at 6:59 p.m.

In a voice vote, motion carried.

Chair	Secretary