NEWSLETTER

William Rainey Harper College

358-9100 Algonquin and Roselle Roads Palatine, Illinois 60067

Vol. 4, No. 1

April 8, 1969

HARPER BOARD ADMITTED TO NATIONAL ASSOCIATION

The Board of Trustees of Harper College was recently admitted to membership in the Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges (AGB). The Harper board was the second community junior college board to be admitted.

Admission of the two junior college boards marked a major change in AGB membership policy. Membership in the past had been restricted to four-year colleges and universities. As J. C. Zwingle, AGB executive vice president noted, the association had been approached several years ago regarding the inclusion of junior colleges, but its board of directors had been hesitant to act.

According to Richard L. Johnson, Harper board chairman, AGB's hesitancy stemmed from its fear of losing control to the more numerous junior colleges, which number more than 1000, and its uncertainty as to what it could offer two-year colleges. As he noted, however, boards from junior colleges share common problems with boards of four-year institutions, could benefit from their experience, and could communicate to them the role of the two-year college. The association also would provide a good means for articulation of curricular programs.

Membership in AGB is a further indication of the increased respect being accorded community unior colleges by four-year institutions.

Of added distinction to Harper was the action of AGB in naming Dr. Robert E. Lahti to membership on its Advisory Council of Presidents. The first junior college to be named to the Council of Presidents, Lahti will serve a three-year term with nine other presidents, including Robben W. Fleming, University of Michigan; Malcolm C. Moos, University of Minnesota; John C. Weaver, University of Missouri System; and Alexander Heard, Vanderbilt University.

BOARD ELECTION APRIL 12

Three candidates, including two incumbents, are running for two positions on Harper's Board of Trustees.

Richard L. Johnson has been a member of the Board of Trustees since its inception in 1965. John L. Kuranz, who filled a shortterm vacancy, was elected to a one-year term last April. A third candidate is Larry Moats, second-year student at Harper College.

Johnson, currently Harper's board chairan, is vice president of A. T. Kearney & company, management consultants headquartered in Chicago, where he has been since 1963 specializing in hospital consulting. Prior to his association with A. T. Kearney, he was an associate professor in the University of Missouri's School of Medicine and on the faculty of the Graduate School of Business at the University of Chicago, where he also, at one time, held the associate directorship of the university's Graduate Program of Hospital Administration. Johnson, 44, earned a B.S. degree at Northwestern, an M.B.A. degree at the University of Chicago. Married, with three children, he lives in Arlington Heights.

Kuranz, with two associates from the Manhattan Project, founded Nuclear-Chicago Corporation, and is involved in research, development, and design of systems for new (continued)

BOARD ELECTION (Continued)

applications of isotopes and radiation in elds of industrial, academic, and medical research. He headed the founding of the Northwest Industrial Steering Committee, which will provide a link between industry and Harper College. He also has been a member of numerous national committees involving education in the fields of physics and nuclear engineering. Kuranz, 48, earned a B.S. at Marquette, an M.A. at the University of Oklahoma. Married, with three children, he resides in Barrington.

Moats has been a member of the college Student Senate and chairman of the review committee to investigate the non-retention of two Harper instructors. He has also been a member of a student government committee to investigate an instrument for faculty evaluation and a committee to inquire into the possibility of the Harper Student Senate joining the National Student Association. Moats, 20, is majoring in psychology, political science, and business at Harper. Single, he lives

HARPER DEAN GIVEN PRESIDENCY

Wittenberg University recently selected Dr. G. Kenneth Andeen, Harper's dean of instruction, to become its 10th president. Founded in 1845 in Springfield, Ohio, Wittenberg has a total enrollment, graduate and undergraduate, of over 5000 students. Dr. Andeen will assume his new position on July 1.

STUDENTS IN WHO'S WHO

Five students from Harper College have been selected for inclusion in the 1968-1969 edition of Who's Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges. Recognized as being among the country's most outstanding campus leaders, they join an elite group representing more than 600 legiate institutions in North and South America.

This honor, awarded on the basis of academic achievement, service to community, leadership in extracurricular activities, and future potential, went to: Judith A. Ressler, Palatine; Sean F. Ryan, Des Plaines; Patricia L. Tenerowicz, Mt. Prospect; Laurine A. West, Mt. Prospect; and Robert Wintz, Elk Grove.

HIGH RATING GIVEN HARPER

Students from over 60 colleges and universities across the country gave Harper high ratings on a questionnaire designed to evaluate the college program. Attending Harper's first summer session last summer, they were continuing their college studies while home for the summer season.

Comparing Harper with their own institution, most respondents rated Harper instructors above average and indicated that the demands of the courses were about the same. 96% reported that the credits they were earning at Harper were transferable and applicable to the programs they were taking.

Many of the 135 respondents indicated they would be back to attend Harper's 1969 summer session.

HONOR LIST BULGES

When the last grade average for the fall semester flew out of the computer, Harper found 127 students earning academic honors, or a grade average of 3.25 or higher (4.0 = A, 3.0 = B). Of these, 26 achieved 3.75 or above, earning a place on the Trustees' Honor List. They are Rose D. Ahern, Roger L. Alm, Jr., Herbert Apelgren, Lyn A. Caradonna, Patrice Eisentraut, Thomas A. Gemmell, Edward G. Goodrich, Constance Hughes, Bruce L. Lehmann, Verla J. Longhurst, Paul McGuire, Thomas Michalski, Audrienne Mueller. Patricia E. Murphy, H. W. Neumann, Jr., Mark H. North, Jerry R. Packard, Nancy A. Perry, Cathy A. Petersen, Kenneth J. Reed, Kenneth H. Ritzenthaler, Thomas M. Seitz. Susan Stefanik, James Stelljes, Donald C. Stelzer, and Patricia L. Tenerowicz.