Limited Enrollment

NLN Entrance Exam

The NLN Entrance Exam is available for Harper College students only. The NLN exam is used for entrance in the Nursing (RN), Practical Nursing Certificate, Dental Hygiene, Diagnostic Cardiac Sonography, Diagnostic Medical Sonography, and Radiologic Technology programs. It is the student's responsibility to adhere to the NLN practices which may change from year to year. It is suggested that students first attend a Health Career Program Information Session before registering for the test.

The NLN exam is a computer-based exam that contains three sections: verbal ability, mathematics and science. The testing session lasts approximately two hours. Each section of the test is timed.

  • The verbal ability section assesses word knowledge, reading comprehension, and critical thinking.
  • The math section measures mathematical problem solving which will include integers, conversions, fractions, decimals, algebra and geometry.
  • The science section tests knowledge in general biology, human anatomy and physiology, chemistry and physics. 

NLN Pre-Entrance Exam Preparation Course

Harper offers Continuing Education courses to help you prepare for the NLN (National League of Nursing) entrance exam). 

Upcoming course information:

  • Course: NLN Pre-Entrance Exam Preparation (LAH0242-001)

  • CRN: 80766
  • Course Schedule: May 23, 2017 - June 13, 2017, Tuesday/Thursday, 6:00 PM-9:00 PM
  • Room: Building X (Foglia), room 143

 

  • Course: NLN Pre-Entrance Exam Preparation (LAH0242-002)
  • CRN: 80767
  • Course Schedule: July 11, 2017 - August 1, 2017, Tuesday/Thursday, 6:00 PM-9:00 PM
  • Room: Building W (Wojcik), room 219

Test Prep Materials

The NLN exam is administered in the Testing Center, Building A, Room A148.

The NLN exam is offered on the dates listed below, subject to space availability. Those interested in reserving a seat in one of the following test sessions must register and pay online prior to the exam date.

Date Time
Thursday, May 25, 2017 12:30 p.m.
Friday, June 2, 2017 10:00 a.m.
Tuesday, June 6, 2017 10:00 a.m.
Monday, June 12, 2017 12:30 p.m.
Wednesday, June 21, 2017 10:00 a.m.
Monday, June 26, 2017 12:30 p.m.
Thursday, June 29, 2017 12:30 p.m.
Thursday, July 6, 2017 10:00 a.m.
Monday, July 17, 2017  12:30 p.m.
Wednesday, July 19, 2017  10:00 a.m.
Friday, July 28, 2017 10:00 a.m.
Monday, July 31, 2017 12:00 p.m.
Wednesday, August 2, 2017 10:00 a.m.
Monday, August 7, 2017 12:30 p.m.
Thursday, August 10, 2017 12:30 p.m.
Tuesday, August 15, 2017 10:00 a.m.
Friday, August 18, 2017 10:00 a.m.
Monday, August 21, 2017 12:30 p.m.
Wednesday, August 23, 2017 10:00 a.m.
Thursday, August 31, 2017 12:30 p.m.
Friday, September 1, 2017 12:30 p.m.
Tuesday, September 5, 2017 10:00 a.m.
Thursday, September 7, 2017 12:30 p.m.
Monday, September 11, 2017 12:30 p.m.
Wednesday, September 13, 2017 10:00 a.m.
Thursday, September 14, 2017 12:30 p.m.
Friday, September 15, 2017 10:00 a.m.
Monday, September 18, 2017 10:00 a.m.
Tuesday, September 19, 2017 12:30 p.m.
Monday, September 25, 2017 12:30 p.m.

Exam registration and payment occurs directly on the NLN website.

In order to register, you will need to create an NLN account that will be used to register for the exam, take the exam, and eventually view your scores. It's very important that you remember your NLN login credentials. 

Registration closes 48 hours prior to the exam date. Please review registration instructions .PDF 

The total cost of the exam is $62.

  • At registration, you will pay a non-refundable fee of $39.
  • On exam day you will pay an additional $23 at the Harper College Testing Center.

On the day of the exam you are required to:

  • arrive 15 minutes early
  • bring your Harper College photo ID
  • know your NLN Exam account username and password information
  • be ready to pay the $23 fee (credit card or check preferred). All exam fees are non-refundable.

If you need to reschedule your exam, you must do so at least 5 days prior to closing date of the registration. To reschedule your exam, email customerhelp@nln.org

Provide your name, login name, date and location of your exam and the best way to contact you. Each time you reschedule an exam you will be charged a $15 rescheduling fee.